Posted by: bureaucratgirl | April 21, 2007

Nothing to Loose

I am literally travelling around Europe with nary but a shopping bag to hold my toiletries. Our rental car was broken into and my pack stolen. (Yeah, you read that right) Thank God for money belts – I have my passport and credit cards, so I’m good. Hubby and S had their credit cards in their packs, so we had to file a police report and make calls to cancel accounts. Not a fun way to spend an evening in Brussels. For those of you who have been there – you know that navigating in Brussels is ten times worst than using French keyboards. 😉 In a sick way, it’s a tad liberating – no luggage to haul everywhere, and now that we have nothing, we’ve got nothing to loose. (That’s the optimist in me.)

That aside, we’ve been having a good time – just taking it easy before I head off to Uganda.

As far as our Amsterdam adventure goes, let’s just say that whatever happens in Amsterdam, stays in Amsterdam. 😉 I did meet up with CQ – it was good seeing him after almost two years.

In the grand scale of things, we are all ok and still travelling strong – albeit a little lighter. We are in Brugge at the moment and the architecture is amazing. It’s also a relaxed town and great for taking a break from travelling.

On a side note, I will not travel with someone without international travel experience anytime soon. I know, I sound like a snob, but it has not been easy. That’s another story altogether. Ah, the highs and lows of backpacking in Europe.

Responses

  1. Ouchie that sounds bad… I hope you get some stuff sorted…

    Amsterdam rocks huh 🙂 Glad you had fun there… and Belgium is a pain to drive in – I know, been there, sworn at them etc!

    t/c… A


Leave a Reply

Categories

