Posted by: bureaucratgirl | August 8, 2007

Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

It’s not you, it’s me…. I didn’t mean to see her behind your back…. I’m sorry.

No, hubby and I aren’t have problems. (Knock on wood) But what I’m going through feels similar…. As you guys know, I just got accepted to a research position at work. (See previous blog entry). Well, just before I found out, I was asked to interview for a senior advisor position (same ministry, different branch). Honestly, I never thought I’d get it. There is always so much competition for senior posts, it’s pretty tough to get one. Good news is – I got an informal offer (formal letter to follow). I am so thrilled! The position suits me, and I can’t wait to start!

There is of course, the tiny detail of giving notice…. I had to tell my supervisor about the other job today, and it was clumsy, awkward, heartwrenching, and emotionally more taxing than the job interview. I caught myself saying to him, “it’s not the job, and it’s not the people”. This sudden feeling of deja vu hit me – it felt exactly like it did breaking up with old boyfriends. (Not that I’ve had many 😉 ) He was very supportive, and was happy for me – after all, he is a really super guy. I left his office feeling a bit blue – like I was letting him down.  But then again, I just have to take advantage of this amazing opportunity.

So here’s to a new job, a fresh start. And here’s to my long climb up the career ladder. Wish me luck!

Responses

  1. Congratulations on the new job! I know how you mean about trying to get a little higher on the pecking order with a job you not only enjoy but feel you could excel at…

    If its a true opportunity, anyone would respect that when you say you must move on…


Leave a Reply

Categories

